top of page
Search
  • Site Admin

SWISH! The phantom issues.


As I'm scanning my way through the numbered issues (Number 97 - 120 are now available) I've been reminded that there is a gap in the numbering sequence of SWISH!

The highest Vol/numbered issue I've ever seen is Vol 7 Num 12, so logically the first numbered issue should be Num 85 but the lowest Numbered issue seems to be Number 97. If anyone knows different and has a numbered issue between Num 85 - 96 I'd love to hear from you.

Vol 7 Num 7 through Num 100 were published in 1985 which is only 10 issues that year, Normally I'd expect there to be 12 issues a year but I suspect that the publishing schedule was not always rigidly adhered to, I seem to remember not finding a new issue on the shelf every month back in the 80's.

Of course it does mean that there could be a Vol 8 Num 1 or Num 96 waiting to be discovered.

Vol 7 Num 12

There was a similar glitch in the numbering of Miss Sadie Stern's Monthly, after Vol 6 Num 8 the system changed to numbers but the lowest numbered issue is Num 81. If Vol 6 Num 8 was the last numbered issue, and I'm pretty certain it was, the next number should have been 69.

It's an odd coincidence that this interruption to the sequence is so similar in size for both publications but I suspect the reason is most likely someone having too many beers at lunchtime rather than subterfuge or intrigue.


446 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page